Joomlapolis Community Builder = Broke A$$ POS

So I download this thing because it’s well recommended on the Joomla site.  I have no idea why.  The support people are super-snide even though it’s not the best product around, just one of the cheaper ones. Honestly, its not even one of the cheaper ones by the time they’ve hit you up for all the extra plug ins that actually make CommunityBuilder (CB) useful.

NOTE: If you hit this looking for Social Networking Extention for Joomla, try Stackideas’ Easy Social.  They don’t give it away but its a lot nicer product and a lot nicer people who don’t go around breaking paradigms.

I’m trying to install the base CB plug in.  I get the error message that about a zillion other people get :

Warning

JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file

Hmm… Off I go to Google, error message in hand.  My Google string “joomla +”community builder” JInstaller: :Install: Cannot find XML setup file”  I get nearly 600 results.

Let me see if I have this right… You bone heads created a non-standard installation process that is unique to your Joomla extension, out the thousands of plugins that are available.  Not only that but your installation process has issues as is evidenced by the people posting about not being able to install it.  And your support people want to get all snippy because your customers can’t seem to get your extensions to install without a lot of help and hand holding.  Really?  You want to be snippy with us over a problem that YOU literally created.  Seriously?

I think I’ll go get my software from the company that doesn’t have to issue foam helmets to their developers.

