Pimcore – The Good, the Bad and The Ugly

Dear Pimore,

I owe it you to be honest with you.  Our relationship is going nowhere. I’ve been wanting to say this for while but letting go isn’t easy.  I don’t want to hurt you, but its painfully obvious at this point that we just aren’t meant to be.  When we first got together, I was lured in by your good looks, responsive design, and promises of power, but all that comes at too steep a cost. Sadly, we never really bonded because that thing you call an Admin interface just got in the way.  It’s like a second job just to get you to do simple things, like swap out a photo or change a date in some text.  It’s too hard and too much of a drain.  So I’m sorry, but we’re done. 

Digital Goddess

The good is that it’s powerful and I suspect that if you spend the necessary months to get your head around the Pimcore way of doing things, that it actually works.  Unfortunately, in the two week long trial, I never got that far.  Overall, I find Pimcore administration to be extremely painful.  The user interface is cluttered and not intuitive at all.  Common tasks are nearly impossible to carry out without written directions how to do so.  In order to edit some text on page, you have to dig around to find where that particular block of text is stored and then attempt to edit it.  The task is so complex, I had difficultly with it.  If I can’t do it easily, there is no way in Hades I’m turning 300 end users loose on this platform.  I don’t want to be responsible for the training, support, and, most importantly, frustrated users. 

Image

