Office 2007

Well, I would have blogged sooner, but Outlook 2007 decided to take over my machine.  It hogged up nearly 5 GB of RAM.  I’ve been tinkering for days now to figure out what the heck happened.  I ran scans for viruses, spy ware, Ad ware, root kits, and all sorts of other nasties and came up empty.  I suspected my anti-virus software so I swapped it for another package.  No change.  I dumped my trash and archived my older missives.  Still nothing.  Then I started Googling.  Apparently, I am not alone.  And if Google is any indication, not alone to the order of 250,000 results under “Outlook 2007 hogging memory”.  However, there is a fix.  Our thanks go out to Tris. 

Apparently there is a serious issue with the way Outlook and the rest of the Office 2007 things handle “Plug In’s”.  One, why are they being installed without my express permission?  Two, why are they allowed to hog up my machine?  Why do I need a 130MB Outlook plugin for iTunes?  WTF???  What does iTunes have to do with my *&^%$#@ email????  Once I disabled all the plug ins, and boy were there a lot of them, Outlook is humming away on my computer and only using a whopping 10MB of RAM.  If you want the full directions – go see Tris’s blog entry on it. 

4 thoughts on “Office 2007

  1. @sarcasticserenity – Normally when people put up a “Layout site” it has layouts for the site on which it’s located.  Usually, people who do Xanga layouts will some Xanga’s for their Xanga stuff.  Not put MySpace layouts on Xanga or vice versa.  Most also sport a good looking custom skin instead of accoucing “LAYOUT SITE” and then being pretty well unedited.  If it’s your tester, you might either 1) make it private or 2) take down the notice about it being a “Layout site”. 

Comments are closed.