Dead Goats

Well, the PETA freaks are at it again.  Out to deny everyone the ability to have fun and/or a steak.  I don’t know about you, but in my world PETA = People Eating Tasty Animals.  However, the warm caring people at our local PETA branch would rather see the animals eating you.  The last chat I had with them occurred at the zoo, where they were advocating turning the animals loose.  Mind you, this whole proposition didn’t include returning them to whence they came. 

It merely involved opening the cages to allow lions, tigers, bears, cheetahs and the like to roam our neighborhoods, parks and school yards.  I don’t know about you, but the thought of wandering out to get my morning paper and finding a tiger on my roof is just a tad bit unsettling.  While I do prefer to dine on things like cows, goats and chickens, I also prefer not to be a menu item myself. 

Their latest squeal of outrage comes from a media party for a new video game called “God of War II”.  It seems that one of the party decorations was a goat carcass supplied by a local butcher.  I don’t know about you, but just the name “God of War II” conjures up visions of digital destruction and electronic blood-lust.  Having a butchered goat on hand seems to fit with their theme fairly well.  Now, the Roman god of war is Mars and his traditional sacrifices were oxen, rams, boars, and horses.  The Greek god of war is Ares and his traditional sacrifice was…well, one of us a human.  This tradition was copied by the Norse as well – Odin being particularly bloody.  Since it seems that two out of three war gods prefer humans, the goat seems like a good compromise to me.

Now, since I’m back to that whole thing about not wanting to be a menu item myself, I’m perfectly fine with a goat standing in.  Especially since the goat was already butchered and ready to be sold when it was purchased.  Refusing to use the goat isn’t going to bring it back to life.  Now, you don’t have to like it, but you still don’t have the right to tell other people what to do.  I can assure you that the PETA folks don’t want to hear my ideas about things that they should be doing.

