Captain Kirk – Back as Black!

For those of you may not know, there is talk of remaking the entire ORIGINAL Star-Trek series.  They’re currently in casting and they’re considering making Captain Kirk over as a black man.  I’ve got mixed feelings about this myself, since I grew up on the original series.  I’m sorry…Kirk=William Shatner.  There really isn’t much more to say on the matter.  I just can’t see anyone else in the role.  I’m really not buying Matt Damon as Kirk, much less any of the black actors that are in contention for the role.  I guess the new Spock will be an asian??

Anyway, you guys sound off and tell me what you think…

4 thoughts on “Captain Kirk – Back as Black!

  1. I never got in to TOS, either. I grew up with TNG and so watching TOS after that just felt… uncomfortable. That said, I agree with you, Morrighu. Seeing someone else in the role would just be odd.

  2. It will be hard to watch someone besides Bill do Kirk, but in the spirit of more sci-fi is better, I wouldn’t dare be against it. Given that I think most equate Shatner with Kirk, they should just go for a look-alike (he’ll be white, and speak with a weird halting style). Also, I dare them to keep the original female uniforms…

Comments are closed.