Skinny Models Get The Boot in Madrid

Frankly, I think it’s about time that the sickly-looking anorexic heroin-chic models get sidelined.  In case you’re wondering what I’m talking about, I’m talking about a bunch of gals who look like this:

Now,

I’m not a guy but I don’t see anything attractive about that.  Without the bikini top, you can’t even really tell that she’s a girl.  Ewwwww.  And when we portray this to little girls as what they’re supposed to try to look like…well, let’s just say it’s no wonder that eating disorders are rampant among young girls.

Apparently, the city council in Madrid agrees with me because they’ve refused to allow any girls on the catwalk that don’t have at least a moderately normal BMI.  If they’re too far underweight, they don’t get to walk.  Now, the flip side of this is that the fashion industry is complaining because even models with “more normal” BMI’s, like Naomi Campbell, still wouldn’t be allowed to take a turn on the catwalk. 

Frankly, I think that this says a lot about the state of the fashion industry, when the “healthy” models are still too underweight to make the cut.  They’re only looking for a BMI of 18.  Normal is 18.5 to 24, so what they’re asking for isn’t that unreasonable – unless you’re a super-model.  In which case your BMI is more likely to be 15 or so. 

4 thoughts on “Skinny Models Get The Boot in Madrid

  1. I think that girl was an extra in the thriller video haha. I never really understood the crack fiend look myself she might as well be a guy because she has no womanly attributes. It will be pretty funny to see what happens to all these models who have been starving themselves to be that thin.

Comments are closed.