Our President and the Weapons of Mass Destruction

I originally posted this back in November but I’m reposting it again.  This is due to something I saw in digerati17‘s
blog.  He mentions an incident, since he’s in the military, where
he was accosted by an in-DUH-vidual over the war in Iraq.  The
in-DUH-vidual in question ended up by throwing a drink on him. 
Frankly, I think that’s not fair and I’d like to give everyone a good
reason to support our troops.  We may not always agree with the
policies of the goverment, but that’s NO reason not to support
individual servicemen and servicewomen who are out there putting their
lives on the line for the rest of us. 

They fight so that the rest of us have the right to sit home and
b&tch about our goverment.  With out the US military, we’d be
over run and the right to b&tch would be gone.  Repressive
regimes don’t allow free speech.  Without futher ado…here’s my
original post.


I’ve been asked by several people why I support the war in Iraq even
though I totally disagree with Bush’s reasons for waging it. 
Ricin has been found in Iraq as have other chemicals.  Ask the
Kurds if Saddam at least had weapons of mass destruction.  Be that
as it may, that’s not why I support this action. 

My personal feeling is that he hasn’t explained it properly to the
American public.  First off, we’re largely responsible for Saddam
being in power in the first place.  While it wasn’t GWB that
helped him gain control of Iraq, it was the federal goverment – OUR
government.  Regardless of the sitting president at the time, that
makes us at least partly responsible for the death camps and rape camps
he went on to establish.  Working from that basis, it’s only fair
that we try to undo some of the damage we caused.  While the
Marines are over there fighting (at this point, mostly with insurgents
from the surrounding regimes), the Army is over there building. 
Building schools, roads, hospitals, and other infrastructure will help
to alleviate some of the mass misery in the country.  From my
point of view, we’re over there cleaning up a mess we helped to
make.  You did it at home, if your mother raised you
properly. 

As for the human rights folks, isn’t a woman’s ability to leave her
house, go to the market, and shop for food for her family without being
scooped up and raped to death a basic human right?  Isn’t being
able to go about your daily life without having to worry about picking
yellow flowers a basic human right?  I mention this because Saddam
hates the color yellow so much that he’s been known to execute anyone
growing yellow flowers or even yellow weeds.  So far, 270 mass
graves have been reported.  Only 53 have been
investigated with the total of about 400,000 people in them. 
Since we’ve only investigated about 1/5 of mass graves, that means we
could be looking at as many as 2 million people murdered. 

That would make Saddam one of the largest mass murders in
history. (Hitler weighs in at 6 million.  Stalin weighs in at
somewhere between 10 and 20 million.  Pol Pot weighs in at 2 to 3
million.  Mao Tse Tung tips in at somewhere between 20 and 60
million.)  That it what I’d call one hell of a mess. 
Their 400,000 people is NOTHING compared to the 2097 that we’ve
lost.  Our few are not even a drop in a bucket that
size.  I’m not saying that we need to stay there until we’ve lost
400,000 people.  I’m just saying that I think we need to do what
we can to help them try to recover from this horrible travesty. 

3 thoughts on “Our President and the Weapons of Mass Destruction

  1. You’re right. We do need to help. We do need to finish it up, but I can’t say I agree with the war or the way it is being portrayed to the U.S. in the media.Bush, as far as I’m concerned, is not a very smart man. I’ve never been very fond of him. Even when he was only the governor of texas and I was only 9 or 10 years old, I remember thinking to myself “I don’t like that man.” I can’t recall why, so it must not’ve been significant, but I do remember thinking that.Brian

  2. I agree that Saddam was a bad man. However the way we have gone about to marshall the public’s support for this war was decietful, illegal and ultimately wrong. And that has made this war wrong because the ends did not justify the means. Though we disagree, I want to state that I appreciate your comments and your support.

Comments are closed.