Men and the TV

Last night, I went to bed to find my husband already asleep with the TV blaring.  Mind you his head is back, his mouth is open, and he’s snoring like a buzz saw.  It would be hard for him to be any more asleep in that.  It would be You know that thing on the TV that says “Volume” and has the little bars underneath it?  Well he had cranked the volume up so that the bars were somewhere between the “m” and the “e” which means that the TV was operating at roughly 150 decibles. 

So the first thing I have to do is locate the remote, which isn’t easy when you have your fingers shoved in your ears.  Then I get the volume back down to somewhere between the “v” and “o”.  I putter around for a bit getting ready to go to bed and then grab the remote to see what’s on. He still hasn’t moved or even so much as twitched this entire time.

The one thing I can find to watch is “Phantom of the Opera”, so I change the channel.  It’s been on for all of about 5 mintues when my husband sits up and says “Awww, how can you watch that crap?  This is the third time you’ve woken me up with that crap.  I hate opera!  Turn that stuff down!”  I roll over and look at him, “I don’t know how you expect me to turn it down.  Its already like 50 decibels quieter than it was when I first came to bed.”

My question is how can he possibly have known?  If the blaring Oxy-Clean and Space Bag commercials didn’t wake him up, how can “Phantom of the Opera” at a 1/3 of the volume wake him up?  *Sigh*  I don’t know what to make of the near psychic connection between men and their TV’s. 

One thought on “Men and the TV

  1. My stepdad is exactly the same.I have a theory that when men pass a certain age, something snaps inside our brain (well, not literally ‘snaps’.) which turns us in to deaf, blind, bumbling, forgetful idiots with little to no manners (i.e. eating noisily and not flushing the toilet.), who can’t stay awake for more than 12 hours at a time. This day *seems* to occur between 35 and 45 years of age and I am *not* looking forward to it. 😦

Comments are closed.